skip to primary navigationskip to content


Sabbatical Officers and Executive Committee

The GU is a democratic organisation run by two full-time Sabbatical Officer (the President and Vice-President), a shared Sabbatical Officer (the Welfare and Rights Officer) and an Executive Committee of voluntary student officers. Officers hold office for 1 year.

Each officer is elected in cross-campus elections by the whole graduate community (for the President and Vice-President). Voluntary positions are in addition elected by mature undergraduate community, as well as undergraduates in their 4th year or higher of residence. To ensure the successful transition of responsibilities from year to year, the President and Welfare & Rights Officer are elected in May and take office on 1st July. The Vice-President and Executive Committee Officers are elected at the end of October and take office in the New Year.

The Sabbatical Officers and Executive Committee usually meet weekly and together are responsible for policy decisions and organisational strategy, subject to the provisions of the GU Constitution and the direction of the GU Council. They co-ordinate the work of the GU’s committees and are responsible for the allocation of the GU’s funds for specific projects.

Staff and Volunteers

The Officers are supported in their work by a small team of permanent staff members and volunteers.

GU Council

The GU Council is the policy-making body of the GU. Every affiliated college is represented on the Council, often by their President or another MCR officer, and has one vote. Every Faculty is also represented by the elected graduate rep on each Faculty Board. The GU Council meets at least five times during the academic year to discuss current issues and formulate graduate viewpoints to be presented to the University and colleges, by either the GU President or one of the appointed graduate representatives.

All members of the GU are entitled to attend and speak at GU Council meetings, though only elected MCR officers and Faculty reps are entitled to vote.